Annual JFR luncheon for the Righteous

Mateusz Szczepaniak / English translation: Andrew Rajcher, 5th September 2017
Almost thirty Righteous Among the Nations gathered at the POLIN Museum of the History of Polish Jews for the Annual Dinner organised by the Jewish Foundation for the Righteous (JFR), a foundation which financially supports 393 Righteous in twenty countries around the world, among them 217 in Poland. The event took place on 3rd September and was attended by Holocaust Survivors – JFR President Roman Kent and POLIN Museum Council Chairman Marian Turski.

The annual Jewish Foundation for the Righteous (JFR) annual luncheon has taken place over many years. This year's event took place at the POLIN Museum, with the help of our volunteers. It was an occasion to meet and speak with the Righteous, for whom the JFR has worked since 1986.

Almost thirty individuals took part – those honoured by the Yad Vashem Institute as Righteous Among the Nations, and their families. The Board of the Association of the Polish Righteous was represented by its President Anna Bando, Vice-President Józef Walaszczyk and Secretary Irena Senderska-Rzońca. Among the invited guests were Deputy Ambassador of Israel  Ruth Cohen-Dar and Cultural Attaché of the United States Embassy Dan Hastings.

"You are a light showing the way, you are the moral compass"

Read about the 30th Anniversay Gala of the Association of the Polish Righteous

During the event, special celebrations took place of the 87th birthday of Alicja Schnepf (nee Szczepaniak) on the 20th August and the 84th birthday of Marianna Gajowniczek (nee Imiołek) on 6th September. Their stories, as well as the stories of the other Righteous who took part in Sunday's event, can be read on our website. Simply click on one of the links below and change language version on the top of the website:

Anna Bando, Marianna Gajowniczek, Stanisław Galas, Jadwiga Gawrych, Władysław Hosticzko, Łucja Jurczak, Wanda Kołomijska, Krystyna Kowalska, Witold Lisowski, Janina Mazur, Andrzej i Leszek Mikołajków, Władysław Misuna, Wacław Nowiński, Janina Rożecka, Stanisława Roztropowicz-Szkubel, Alicja Schnepf, Irena Senderska-Rzońca, Tadeusz Stankiewicz, Józef Walaszczyk, Krystyna Wiśniewska, Jadwiga Wolf, Czesława Żak.